Paige Dickerson's Blog

Overwhelmed.

Posted in Books by voteforjaneausten on March 12, 2009

I have so many books on my TBR pile! For efficiency (and sanity) I have decided two books at a time is enough. So I am currently reading Dearly Devoted Dexter which is number two in the Dexter series and Magical Thinking. I’m pretty easy on books so you probably won’t hear me say I hate any very often, but I think there is something to be found in every book — even ones that I don’t like!

Dexter

So far I’m loving it. Jeff Lindsay isn’t exactly high literature, but the books read so well. I have heard a spoiler (hehe don’t worry I won’t spoil it for you… unless you beg!) which I am anxious to see how it develops. I do believe it is true now that I have read some of the book. One thing I’m interested in is the “moon motif” in the books. I haven’t quite figured out if it is an actual phase of the moon that he reacts to or if he views the moon differently when he is with the Dark Passenger. If anyone has read it let me know your thoughts! I do like the image of the fat, blood-colored moon. It might not be an original symbol, but it is effective. And the pacing of the book is amazing. I have a hard time putting it down. Who doesn’t love Dexter with his wonderful sarcasm, cunning and smarts? I also have the third book in the series so we’ll see how quickly I get through them.

Magical Thinking
Augusten Burroughs cracks me up. Crass? Yes. Unbelieveable? Absolutely. But yet I can’t stop reading this book of short stories. I’ll continue when I finish, but even just a few stories in I am enjoying it. One of the first ones “Vanderbilt Genes” is hilarious because he is a kid who becomes convinced that his parents had kidnapped him. I think most kids have wondered what their lives would be like, but with his outrageous nature I can believe that he actually became convinced of it. The best parts of this book are the tidbits of Augusten discovering himself. Those are the things I’m obsessed with in all art. The moments where we find our commonalities and our differences.

I can’t wait to finish them!!

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

