Paige Dickerson's Blog

Perma Red

Posted in Books by voteforjaneausten on May 13, 2009

So I’ve started Perma Red by Debra Magpie Earling and am slugging through it. I can’t say that I hate it, but a few times I have rolled my eyes at the descriptions. For me as a writer it is difficult to balance having enough description with having too much. I am a huge fan of parallelism and also with using contrasting things in parallel formats to jarr the reader a bit, but I think this book convinced me never to do it again.

On another note “Angels and Demons” comes out this weekend! I enjoyed that book much more than “The DaVinci Code” so hopefully the movie goes that direction too (didn’t like the DaVinci movie very much at all.) I’m getting a group of girls to go to the movie together on Friday and am excited about that šŸ™‚ I’ll just have to refrain from comparing the book to the movie too much.

How about you? Do you compare/contrast movies and books? Or do you let them stand on their own? If you do, how do you keep the two seperate enough to enjoy both?

Leave a Reply

