Paige Dickerson's Blog

Weekend reading!

Posted in Books by voteforjaneausten on June 6, 2009

I love nothing more than to stay inside during a truly hot day with the wind blowing through the window and reading on my couch in comfort. I recently finished two books by Madeleine Wickham. One called Swimming Pool Sunday and the other Cocktails for Three. I enjoyed both, but missed the wit and hilarity of her books written under her pseudonym Sophie Kinsella.

I will probably read more of her “serious” books, but perhaps without the anticipation of her other books.

Swimming Pool Sunday is about what happens to a family and group of friends when a tragedy happens during a swimming party. The divides and bonds the tragedy creates are intricately woven albeit predictable. My favorite scenes were the ones featuring the children, which there weren’t many of.

Cocktails for Three was also fairly predictable, and there is one “moment of revelation” which I found hard to believe that three women who work together and are best friends wouldn’t have picked up on. There were several of those moments. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll find myself in a similar situation and take it all back. In all it made me long to have a group of friends that I could have cocktails with on a regular basis. The bonds of friendship is another aspect of Wickham’s books (even her ones as Kinsella) that are always masterfully done. She captures that unspoken bond very well.

Tagged with:

Leave a Reply

