Paige Dickerson's Blog

Inspiration in Ivory

Posted in Books by voteforjaneausten on April 24, 2010

When I have a hard time reading through a book, I’ll sometimes put it in my restroom to read when I’m taking a bath. One I struggled with for upwards of a year was Eckhart Tolle’s The Power of Now. I bought it because so many people had said how inspirational it was. However, it just didn’t “click” my inner inspiration.

His book describes detaching from physical and earthly things in an effort to live in the now. The book’s concepts are good. However, I think the presentation is what got in my way. It is written in an “argument” style, where an unnamed person representing the reader offers questions and arguments with Tolle. For me, this merely leads to frustration that I can’t ask questions of my own. Better questions, at that. I think it is worth a read, even if it wasn’t what I was expecting.

But as I tidied my drawer in the restroom I did find inspiration elsewhere.

I found my Ivory soap. I’ve used Ivory for years, but I never noticed until that day that there are quotes inscribed (in English and in French) on the wrappers.

Some of those quotes include:
“The secret to a happy life is to live simply.”
“The ultimate point in life is joy.”
“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.”

I smiled as I went through each one. Essentially the quotes encouraging simplicity are urging the same sort of thing as Tolle. Live simply. Enjoy the now, etc.

Turns out, my inspiration was there… just not in the form I thought it might be 🙂

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tomasz Haracz said, on August 11, 2010 at 8:39 am

    Really nice blog here. Cheers, Tomasz Haracz.

  2. paigedickerson said, on August 11, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Thanks! –Paige


Leave a Reply

