Paige Dickerson's Blog

Happy People

Posted in Personal Musings by voteforjaneausten on August 20, 2010

I’ve been thinking about the nature of happiness lately. I have had my bouts of depression, and I suppose I never have felt fully satisfied in my life — I think that gives me the drive to pursue the things that I really want. My life is far from where I hope it will be eventually or even in a year from now — but I know I’m getting there. However, I do know several people who seem bent on unhappiness. No matter what they exude an atmosphere of unhappiness and usually anger. I often wonder if the possibility of happiness exists, and these people simply are bent on acting out, or, perhaps, they are doomed to unhappiness. In the latter case I wonder if I’m somehow destined to be on a roller coaster of emotion at the lower end of the scale. It does seem I can somewhat choose how to feel, but not to the degree that I wish.

On the other side, on my vacation with my parents I encountered long-time family friends the Nobles. Sue especially always seems so happy and easy going. This trip I met the two older boys’ wives. Both girls are beautiful outwardly, but they both exuded a happiness that glowed. The whole family speak of God frequently but without the condemnation or preachy-ness that so frequently accompanies such talk. I, of course, don’t know if they are all truly happy all the time. I just know that in the few hours I spent with them, and the time I’ve spent with the Nobles in the past, there has always been an air of joy and peace.

I admire the happiness and continue to strive for it. What are your thoughts? Is happiness truly a choice? How does one overcome a sort of low-level depression? Is it all brain chemistry or is it all circumstance or is it all just destiny?

Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bendedspoon said, on August 20, 2010 at 7:07 am

    when you get tired of being sad
    when you no longer want to wipe tears
    when you want to exercise your face muscles
    you will choose to be happy
    i know 🙂


Leave a Reply

