Paige Dickerson's Blog

Reporting the books

Posted in Books by voteforjaneausten on April 10, 2011

This weekend I was meandering through bookstores, and I made my way through the young readers’ section. I rarely go there these days. In fact, I rarely went there when I was a young reader. I never read a whole lot out of this section. After third grade, I pretty much jumped to all adult books. But while I was there I spotted the tell-tale yellow and blue covers of Nancy Drew. I pulled out a copy of The Secret of the Old Clock and smiled. I’m sure that I read other books for class before that. I read that book in second grade. And I read a lot of chapter books before that. I had already read all of the Little House on the Prairie books. But my very first book report was over The Secret of the Old Clock.

Secret of the Old Clock

I don’t really remember what my “analysis” was. Other than the book was “good” and that I revealed the secret of the clock at the end. My mom helped me with the report by taking me to a second hand store where we bought an old clock that looked strikingly like the one on the cover. For the grande finaleI swung open the door and revealed the secret. AND WITHOUT WARNING THAT THERE WERE SPOILERS!!! Hahaha.I was not a good second grader. I don’t think any of my classmates were reading the books though, so I was safe.

I already loved reading, but those books really fostered that love. Soon after I discovered Louisa May Alcott, who is still among my favorites. During third grade I was so inspired by Ms. Alcott that I wrote a research paper about her even though there was no assignment. Am I a nerd? Absolutely. Such moments continued throughout all my school years and continue now as I discover new writers whose words and stories delight and surprise. What was your first book report? Was it toil or delight like mine?

Leave a Reply

