Paige Dickerson's Blog

The adventure begins

Posted in Personal Musings by voteforjaneausten on May 28, 2011

So just catching up a little bit here! I’ll write more specific, humorous and more thought-out stories later, but just to catch everyone up here is a general overview.

I left Port Angeles on May 24 after a very hurried weekend of goodbyes and cleaning. I really didn’t think I would finish everything, but the landlord said (thank goodness) that most of my deposit should be returned to me. So, we’ll see what happens. I’m very grateful. A lot of people kept asking if I was emotional about leaving. I have to say, that so far I haven’t really been emotional. I would say the main reason for this is the certainty that this is the right decision. I have never been sure of any decision in my life, except for this one. But I am not nervous or scared or anything. I feel completely peaceful in a way I have never felt before. Also, I have moved many, many times before, and, in a way, this has helped me learn that some people will stay in touch and others will not. It doesn’t necessarily reflect on the deepness of the friendship who stays in touch and who doesn’t. I’ve had very important friendships that the people are simply really bad at staying in touch. But I’ve learned that this is a product of life. Most likely people will move in and out of life. And those that are important will likely at least try to stay in touch. This does not mean that I won’t miss everyone. Which I will. Very deeply. I just haven’t gotten deeply emotional about it this time. Yet. Probably over a cup of tea in a month I’ll start crying randomly or something. Or maybe the certainty of the rightness of my decision will carry me through. I’m not sure. But, for those of you in Port Angeles, know that I will miss you and I love you guys. And I really hope you do stay in touch, but I do understand that life gets in the way sometimes.

So I left my empty apartment with my jam-packed car on a rather hot day for Port Angeles. I thought about taking some pictures, but, to be honest, I was just too exhausted to take one final picture of the town. And I have a whole bunch anyway.  From there I headed to Oregon where I barely stopped about mid-way through the state and saw Ron and Sue. They were extremely gracious and I am so grateful to them for their kindness. I had a nice visit with them and then took off early in the morning to Crescent City, CA.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By the time I arrived in the area of the Redwoods it was raining. A lot. So I didn’t get to do the kind of hiking I planned to, but that was OK because I was pretty tired anyway. The whole way between Oregon and Cali I was listening to this book on CD that Lyndi gave me. It was a brilliant idea. I wish I had thought of it. I didn’t think I would like it, but it turns out it is better than music because it is almost like conversation. It keeps you kind of engaged, without distracting like a phone or something would. I’ll have to review the book later. I bought a couple others for later in the trip because I enjoyed the experience so much. The woman at the hotel pointed out a couple of things of interest so here are a couple that I know people will enjoy. Here is a grove of trees where the second trilogy (or first . . . first filmed second in numeration) of Star Wars was filmed. I’m sure it is deeper in the forest, but this is the general vicinity. Not sure what scenes. Sorry Star Wars fans.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here is the entrance to the area where parts of Jurassic Park were filmed. There is a whole trail down to the area, but it was raining too much to do the full hike. So I just got out to take a picture of the general area. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then I headed out on the road. You can see the above slideshow for a few pics if you like.

Once I arrived in Danville it has been a blast to see Deana. Anyone who knows my cousin knows that she is full of life and full of fun. It is always refreshing and fun to be around her. Today we went out to the coast with a couple students of hers (she is a youth leader for a church for those of you who don’t know) and we had a lot of fun.

I’ll upload the pics from that later.

Hope everyone is well. I’d love to hear from everyone!

Paige

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cl said, on May 28, 2011 at 11:11 am

    Nice photos. Sounds like you have your big girl pants on. 🙂

  2. Marcie said, on May 28, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    Thanks for keeping us posted on your progress! I tried audio books on my epic trip too, with varying success. Narrators with soothing English accents were deadly boring! I had better luck with podcasts of This American Life. Engaging and short! David Sedaris worked well though. Funny is good. The kitties say hi!

  3. Nicole Fitzgerald said, on June 1, 2011 at 7:21 am

    I love the San Francisco area. It is beautiful! My husband and I have been twice…in fact, we were going every other year until this year, since we moved to Amarillo. I cannot wait until our next trip. Enjoy your trip and savor the memories!

  4. T Smith said, on June 8, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    Hi Paige, reading your words about the CA drive reminded me I haven’t DRIVEN home in so long. Usually cheap flights there, added to time off from work, have made flying easier. June 8 here in PA – SUNNY! BAck soon!


Leave a comment